top of page

Positioning for Resurgence through Dynamic Thought Leadership

Letter from the Chair

Dear Friends of AACSRE,

I hope everyone is doing well and staying safe and healthy during these trying times. On behalf of the Board of Directors, I want to assure everyone that like many other organizations, AACSRE is continuing to conduct its scope of work effectively using virtual platforms. It is indeed my pleasure to serve as the 2020-2021 Chairman. I look forward to working with this talented group of interdisciplinary thought leaders.

During the first quarter of 2020, we have already selected the 2020 Class of Emerging Research Fellows; aligned with Dr. Vikas Mehta and Dr. Chris Auffrey of the University of Cincinnati to publish the Interdisciplinary Journal of Signage and Wayfinding; expanded our Board of Directors; and appointed a new Executive Director, Marihelen Millar.

I would like to encourage everyone to visit the journal’s website and take a look at the current issue of IJSW. I would also like to thank our founding Editor, Dawn Jordan for overseeing the first three volumes of the issue and getting it established. We are also very grateful to Vikas Mehta and Chris Auffrey for stepping up to lead the journal into the future.

Our focus for 2020 will be to (1) build awareness for AACSRE and its mission/vision; (2) cultivate relationships with legacy donors; (3) develop strategic partnerships with academic associations and the sign industry to identify critical/emerging issues; and (4) expand the efforts of AACSRE’s standing committees to execute annual action plans.

As we go through the transition to a new Executive Director, I would like to thank Patty Herbin, who is retiring from the position for her outstanding service to the organization. At some future point we will be sure to find a way to pay an appropriate in-person tribute, but in the meantime on behalf of the organization I would simply like to say a big “Thank You!” to Patty on behalf of the organization.

Charles R. Taylor, Ph.D.

John A. Murphy Professor of Marketing

Villanova School of Business

bottom of page